PBA All-Star: For fourth time, Rey Guevarra named Slam Dunk champion

Rey Guevarra overcame a tough challenge from Renz Palma as he bagged the 2018 PBA All-Star Slam Dunk title on Friday at the Batangas City Sports Center.

It was Guevarra’s fourth title in five years, as he also topped the competition for three consecutive years in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

The competition was so close between Guevarra and Palma that the two had to go through a tiebreaker match following a tied 75 score in the two-round finale.

But the experienced prevailed over the neophyte in the end as Guevarra went for a front windmill dunk that earned him a perfect 40 from judges Alvin Patrimonio, Benjie Paras, Atoy Co and Ed Cordero. Palma, meanwhile, also wowed the crowd after going for a 180-degree jam, but could only get 39 points.

The other slam dunk participants were Meralco’s Chris Newsome, Matt Ganuelas-Rosser of San Miguel, Lervin Flores of GlobalPort, and Alaska’s Marion Magat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top